Featured Article

May 10, 2010

TechAmerica Announces 2010 Oregon Technology Awards Winners

TechAmerica Oregon has announced this year's winners at the annual Oregon Technology Awards celebration on May 6. The awards were given in five categories, namely Rising Star, System/Hardware, Software, Technology-Service, and Cool Product.

The TechAmerica Oregon Technology Awards Program celebrates excellence and achievement in the region's technology industry and honors one outstanding Technology Executive of the Year. Also, five individual industry segment and product awards will be presented during the award ceremony.

The Oregon Robotics and Tournament Outreach Program (ORTOP) were beneficiaries of the proceeds in 2009. All net proceeds from the celebration go to math, science and technology education for Oregon students, the company has announced. Two ORTOP teams, the Fire Breathing Rubber Duckies and Short Circuits participated in the awards celebration. An independent committee selected the winners from a pool of more than 70 nominations.

"The judges faced an extraordinary challenge this year in choosing from a pool of truly exceptional technology companies," said Jennifer Bosze, executive director, TechAmerica Oregon. "Our most sincere thanks to all who submitted an application, the hardworking judges and volunteers who make this celebration of achievement in Oregon's technology community possible."

TriQuint Semiconductor and Tripwire Inc. won honors for the second year in a row, which was a rarity for the annual awards. The Rising Star Company of the Year was given to Avnera Corporation and System/Hardware Company of the Year award was given to TriQuint Semiconductor. Tripwire Inc. walked away with Software Company of the Year award. The Oregon Technology Awards is produced by TechAmerica Oregon and is supported by financial and in-kind sponsors.

Recently, the company praised a House subcommittee for advancing legislation designed to strengthen federal information security management while calling for key improvements to the bill before passage. The letter was sent to House Subcommittee on Government Management Chairwoman Diane Watson (D-Calif.) congratulating her and her fellow committee members for marking up the Federal Information Security Amendments Act of 2010 (H.R. 4900).

Raju Shanbhag is a contributing editor for RobotXworld. To read more of Raju's articles, please visit his columnist page.

Edited by Erin Harrison

Back to RobotXworld Home

Comments powered by Disqus

Related Articles